Hockey Star Roisin Upton becomes Fairtrade ambassador and asks us to Fairtrade our Christmas in Limerick

  • Fairtrade Christmas Cards competition winners
The overall winners Olga Kyrychenko, Laurel Hill Secondary School, and Izzy Duggan, Scoil an Spioraid Naoimh, Roxborough, with Fairtrade ambassador Roisin Upton and Mayor of Limerick City and County Council, Cllr James Collins. (Pic: Alan Place)

Limerick Hockey Star Roisin Upton has joined pupils from primary and secondary schools across Limerick to encourage people to think Fairtrade this Christmas.

They met the Mayor of the City and County of Limerick James Collins in Istabraq Hall in Limerick City and County Council Headquarters in Merchant’s Quay on Tuesday (13 Nov 218) to promote the Fairtrade message and to help celebrate Fairtrade Limerick’s 13th birthday.

As part of the awareness programme, the students have created Christmas Cards centred on the Fairtrade message of promoting fair trading practices between Ireland and developing countries.

Cards were created by pupils of all ages, ranging from 5 up to 17 and involved schools across the city and county, illustrating what Fairtrade means to them.

The overall winners were:

  • Junior Section: Izzy Duggan, Scoil an Spioraid Naoimh, Roxborough
  • Senior Section: Olga Kyrychenko, Laurel Hill Secondary School, Limerick

Their cards will be reproduced and sent to a variety of local businesses, shops and cafes that have supported the Fairtrade initiative throughout 2018.

Addressing the pupils from schools across Limerick, Mayor James Collins said “Everyone in life has a choice, whether to eat loads of junk food or to eat healthily; to walk, cycle or be driven to school; to do good things or bad.”

"That is the essence of Fairtrade. It is caring about where your food and drinks come from. We’ve all heard of the plight of single-use cup or the plastic straw.”

“Choosing Fairtrade means that you care how the product was produced, who produced it and what benefit they get.”

Fairtrade Christmas Cards competition
Cratloe NS pupils, Rachel Murphy and Niamh Healy. (Pic: Alan Place)

Hockey Star Roisin Upton, who was unveiled as a Fairtrade Ambassador, said: “I am delighted to be involved with Fairtrade – when I was at school I never had the opportunity to be involved in such a fantastic competition like this. Massive congratulations to all award winners, you are much more artistic than I was. You are blessed with artistic genes."

Dolores O’Meara, Chair of the Limerick City Fairtrade Committee said: "We can no longer ignore the impact that climate change, global trading and political events are having on people in the developing world. We in the developed world have the power to bring about change by making the right choices.”

“We can choose to reduce our carbon footprint and, by choosing Fairtrade items when we shop, we can ensure that producers in the developing world enjoy a sustainable living. I would encourage Limerick consumers to put some Fairtrade items in the shopping basket this Christmas.”

The gathering in Istabraq Hall also marked the 13th anniversary of Limerick city as a Fairtrade City.

Limerick city was awarded status as a Fairtrade City in 2005 thanks to the concerted efforts of local people to ensure that Fairtrade produce was made widely available.

Now entering its 13th year, it shows Limerick city’s commitment to supporting a fairer trading system with developing countries.

The Fairtrade programme ensures that producers in developing countries receive a fair price for their products. A minimum price for negotiations between producer and purchaser is set in order to ensure the producers are guaranteed a sustainable business. However, if the market price is higher than this minimum price set, then the purchaser must pay the market price.

Further information on how the Fairtrade programme operates is available at

Fairtrade Christmas Cards competition
Corpus Christi Moyross pupils, Clara McCarthy, Katie McNamara and Amber Daly. (Pic: Alan Place)

Schools Christmas Card Competition 2018

Overall Winner - Junior Section: Izzy Duggan, Scoil an Spioraid Naoimh, Roxborough

Overall Winner - Senior Section: Olga Kyrychenko, Laurel Hill Secondary School, Limerick

Highly Commended Junior Section

St Mary’s Boy NS, Abbeyfeale

Shane Collins, Casey Pleavin

Donoughmore NS

Hollie Kearns, Olivia Begley

Meenkilly NS, Abbeyfeale

Linda Kelly, Katelyn O’Connor, Abi Bishop

Corpus Christi PS. Moyross

Amber Daly, Katie MacNamara, Carla McCarthy

St John’s NS, Cratloe

Rachel Murphy, Niamh Healy

Knockea NS

Ria O’Mahony, Ben Ryan

Milford NS, Castletroy

Olivia Flannery, Laura Morris, Jack O’Donoghue

Scoil an Spioraid Naoimh, Roxborough

Tom Kinane, Clara Hannon

Presentation PS, Sexton St

Abigail Bates, Lexie Kenrick

Our Lady of Lourdes PS Rosbrien

Renee O’Donoghue, Elizabethka Palkova

Highly Commended in the Senior Section

I-Scoil, Ballinacurra

Kerri Collins

Coláiste Mhichíl, Sexton St

Miguelangel Leo, Lennon O’Neill

John the Baptist Community School, Hospital

Sinead McGuinness, Tommy O’Rourke, Owen Meany

Laurel Hill Secondary School, Limerick

Eva Kelly, Romina Chumo

Desmond College Newcastle West

Alan Wallace

See More